Traffic Court Law Attorney

CALL (727) 330-7800 TO DISCUSS YOUR CASE

TICKET?

IT IS IMPORTANT TO KNOW AND UNDERSTAND YOUR RIGHTS

The Law Office of Venessa Bornost, P.A., handles traffic court cases in Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, Hillsborough, and Citrus Counties.

FIGHT YOUR TRAFFIC TICKET

Before you pay that traffic ticket you may want to consult with an attorney. Traffic Tickets may have a financial impact on your insurance rates, driving history record, employment, and in some cases your criminal record.

TRAFFIC CASES HANDLED

  • Speeding
  • Following too closely
  • Failure to stop for a school bus
  • Racing
  • Reckless driving
  • Careless driving
  • Leaving the scene
  • Driving while license suspended or revoked
  • Fleeing or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer
  • DMV hearings
  • Red light running
  • Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO)

Points & Suspension Information

  • Points – 12 within 12 months > 30 days Suspension
  • Points – 18 within 18 months > 3 months Suspension
  • Points – 24 within 36 months > 1 year Suspension

FLORIDA DRIVER’S LICENSE CHECK LINK: https://www6.hsmv.state.fl.us/DLCheck/main.jsp

 

TRAFFIC TICKET POINTS

STATUTE TICKET POINTS
316.061 (1) Crash: Leaving the scene without giving information more than $50 damage 6
316.063(1) Crash: Failure to leave information unattended vehicle property damage 6
316.072(2) Failure to obey traffic law 3
316.074 Failure to stop at red light 4
316.075(1)(a)(1) Failure to yield right-of-way pedestrian 3
316.078(1) Drive around detour/barricades 3
316.0815(1) Failure to yield to public transit vehicles 3
316.0895 Following too closely 3
316.123(2)(a) Ran Stop Sign 3
316.126(1) Failure to stop for emergency vehicle 3
316.151(1)(a)(b) Improper left or right turn 3
316.172(1)(a) Failure to stop for school bus 4
316.183 Unlawful Speed 4
316.191 Racing on Highway 4
316.192(1)(a) Reckless Driving 4
316.1925 Careless Driving 3
316.1936(3) Possession of open container 3
316.1982(1) Improper Backing 3
316.208(4) Propelling a moped upon and along a sidewalk while motor is operating 3
316.212 Golf-carts improper operation on certain roadways 3
316.217(1)(a) Vehicle without lights night 3
320.061 Unlawful alteration of tag 3

 

LEAVING THE SCENE OF AN ACCIDENT

(BETTER KNOWN AS A HIT AND RUN)

 

Duty to Remain at Scene and Exchange Information (Florida Statute 316.062)

Must Provide:

  • Name and Address
  • Registration number of vehicle you were driving
  • Upon request from either the other driver/owner and or Law Enforcement Officer must show drivers license
  • If other driver/owner not present you must leave information in a conspicuous spot to be seen/found, and
  • Required to report the crash to the nearest law enforcement agency or police station

 

Leaving the Scene of Crash involving Property Damage (Florida Statute 316.061)

Involves:

  • Not stopping and providing the information required above
  • Only property damage (car or attended property)
  • 2d Degree Misdemeanor
    • Up to 6 Months Probation and or 60 Days County Jail
    • Fine up to $500

 

Leaving the Scene of a Crash Involving Personal Injury Other Than Serious Bodily Injury (Florida Statute 316.027)

Involves:

  • Not stopping and providing the information required above and not rendering aid
    • Carrying or make the arrangements for the carrying of the injured person to a physician/surgeon/hospital if it is apparent that treatment is necessary or the injured person requests it
  • 3d Degree Felony
    • Up to 5 years in Florida State Prison
    • Fine up to $5000

 

Leaving the Scene of a Crash Involving Serious Bodily Injury (Florida Statute 316.027)

Involves:

  • Not stopping and providing the information required above and not rendering aid
    • Carrying or make the arrangements for the carrying of the injured person to a physician/surgeon/hospital if it is apparent that treatment is necessary or the injured person requests it
  • Serious Bodily Injury means an injury to a person, including the driver, which consists of a physical condition that creates a substantial risk of death, serious personal disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of the function of a bodily member or organ.
  • 2d Degree Felony
    • Up to 15 years in Florida State Prison
    • Fine up to $10,000

 

Leaving the Scene of Crash Involving Death (Florida Statute 316.027)

Involves:

  • Not Stopping and providing information required and not rendering aid listed above
  • The other person involved dies as a result of the crash
  • 1st Degree Felony
    • Up to 30 years in Florida State Prison
    • Fine up to $10,000

 

In the event that the crash involves Personal Injuries to the other driver/passengers, or they are Seriously Injured or a Death occurs because of the crash the Court will revoke your drivers license for at least 3 years in addition to the penalties addressed above.

 

 

When you contact our office you will speak directly with Attorney Bornost to discuss your case, concerns, or questions.

Call 727-330-7800 today for a consultation to discuss your legal rights.